← Back to the reading library

Product review · Updated 2026-10-01

ALASTIN Ultra Nourishing Moisturizer: comfort claims and care responsibility

TriHex ingredients, a complete declaration and a qualified procedure FAQ give this moisturizer a specific conversation to follow.

Public-source editorial review. No clinician sign-off, firsthand product testing or individual assessment claimed.

Ultra Nourishing Moisturizer with TriHex Technology is ALASTIN’s named hydration and soothing product in a 2.0 fl oz, 59.1 mL size. The manufacturer highlights linoleic acid, oat kernel, silver mushroom and its peptide blend, and publishes the complete ingredient declaration. Its moisturizer identity can be kept separate from the brand’s serums and recovery balm.

The care question changes when a reader is discussing everyday dryness rather than a recent procedure. ALASTIN’s own FAQ expressly gives the treating health professional responsibility for procedure-related use and advises consultation for specific concerns. The review follows those qualified statements alongside the product details, without turning a general benefit description into a personal recommendation.

Questions in this article

Ultra Nourishing is one named moisturizer

The product page identifies Ultra Nourishing Moisturizer with TriHex Technology® and gives the 2.0 fl oz/59.1 mL size. The brand’s catalog separately names Ultra Light Moisturizer, HA IMMERSE Serum and Soothe + Protect Recovery Balm. Their presence in the same range does not make their preparations or purposes identical. Ultra Nourishing product ALASTIN catalog

The manufacturer wording used here is moisturizer. We did not inspect its physical texture, and a description of the product should not depend on an assumed cream consistency. A clear name helps a professional locate the relevant declaration. The prescription questions guide explains why this identity habit also matters when a conversation includes a facial prescription and its own supplied formulation.

The TriHex name sits beside actual ingredient names

ALASTIN describes TriHex as a blend of peptides and other ingredients. Its complete declaration includes palmitoyl tripeptide-1, palmitoyl hexapeptide-12, glycerin, dimethicone and oat-related ingredients, among other components. Linoleic acid and phospholipids also appear in the manufacturer’s ingredient discussion. Naming those components is more precise than treating the trademark as a single disclosed active. Highlights and full declaration

The page does not supply a percentage for each peptide or an independent measurement of penetration from this moisturizer. Its FAQ describes the peptides as synthetic rather than derived from human or animal materials. That remains a manufacturer explanation; the review has not tested the formulation or traced the origin of an individual container. ALASTIN peptide explanation

Comfort and matrix claims answer different questions

The benefits section says the moisturizer calms, nourishes and hydrates skin. It also describes clearing damaged collagen and elastin and supporting new collagen and elastin. The latter is a more specific biological performance narrative than a statement about how hydrated skin feels. Both belong to ALASTIN’s product description, and neither has been observed firsthand here. Manufacturer benefit statements

A reader can identify which part of that narrative prompted interest: dryness, an uncomfortable feel or a visible appearance concern. The returned page does not provide a trial report that quantifies all those outcomes. FTC guidance emphasizes matching evidence to the actual product and advertised benefit. That principle helps keep the different claims distinct without declaring that a named brand has violated a rule. FTC evidence relevance

Pore testing has limits worth keeping

The FAQ says Ultra Nourishing passed comedogenicity testing and presents that as evidence it does not clog pores. The page also labels the moisturizer noncomedogenic and hypoallergenic. It does not state the tested sample, assessment method or comparator in the information reviewed. A pass statement therefore cannot tell us how every individual’s skin will respond. Pore-testing description Product attributes

This distinction is useful when the reader’s concern is a previous unwanted response rather than a general preference for a product label. AAD’s guidance treats irritation and dermatologist-directed care as matters requiring their own context. It does not validate this moisturizer’s test or guarantee that a label answers a particular person’s concern. AAD care and irritation context

The procedure FAQ identifies a responsible professional

ALASTIN states that the moisturizer is intended for daily use and describes post-procedure use with an express qualification: follow the health-care provider’s direction. A separate FAQ says readers with specific skin concerns should consult that provider. The qualification is part of the product record and deserves to remain attached to the broad suitability language. Qualified manufacturer FAQ

The review does not specify a procedure, recovery stage or individual condition that would make the product appropriate. It also has not observed a professional assessment or follow-up arrangement. The meaningful question is whether the treating professional is being asked about this exact moisturizer and the actual situation. That preserves clinical responsibility without constructing a general recovery routine from retail copy.

A posted price can be read without guessing duration

ALASTIN’s catalog lists Ultra Nourishing at $98. The product page supplies the 59.1 mL quantity. Those details clarify the named commercial option, while leaving any actual transaction, local availability or delivered container unverified. We do not estimate how long the moisturizer would last by adopting the page’s application directions. Catalog price Product quantity

A separate product record can be read in the NEOCUTIS review or the Cetaphil review. The links are useful navigation rather than a price-to-performance ranking. The decision being discussed may depend on the preparation, the concern and professional context; a number on a catalog page cannot resolve those questions or establish a better clinical outcome.

Begin the conversation with the relevant concern

The distinction between everyday hydration and procedure-related care makes the next question more useful. AAD explains how moisture can affect the appearance of some fine lines, while ALASTIN’s FAQ places procedure-specific decisions with a health professional. Those are different source roles: general moisture context and this brand’s qualified product description. AAD hydration context ALASTIN responsibility statement

The medication-list conversation guide can help keep other named products visible without screening a combination. FDA’s record guidance concerns communication, not clearance for ALASTIN or another preparation. Our discussion of facial estriol and menopause treatment also keeps facial appearance goals apart from another treatment purpose. A useful question identifies the moisturizer, the reason for asking and the professional who can address the actual circumstances. FDA communication guidance

The source record

  1. Ultra Nourishing Moisturizer with TriHex Technology® ↗Manufacturer Ultra Nourishing formula, quantity, benefits and qualified professional-use FAQ · Accessed 2026-10-01
  2. Medical-Grade Moisturizers & Hydrating Serums ↗Brand catalog distinguishes Ultra Nourishing, Ultra Light, HA IMMERSE and recovery balm with posted prices · Accessed 2026-10-01
  3. Federal Trade Commission — Health Products Compliance Guidance ↗Official advertising guidance; actual study applicability and testimonial limits, not an individual product enforcement finding · Accessed 2026-10-01
  4. American Academy of Dermatology — Wrinkle remedies ↗Professional-society guidance; moisturizer and fine-line appearance, not proof of a named product result · Accessed 2026-10-01
  5. FDA — Create and Keep a Medication List for Your Health ↗Official patient record guidance; not a combination or interaction assessment · Accessed 2026-10-01
Read the complete source register →